Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
You may register with any political party recognized in the State of North Carolina. Party affiliation determines the primary in which a voter is eligible to vote. You may also register as unaffiliated. If you do not declare a party, you will be registered as unaffiliated. During a partisan primary election, an unaffiliated voter may vote only if a party authorizes unaffiliated voters to vote in their primary. If all parties authorize unaffiliated voters to vote, the voter must chose which party ballot he wishes to vote on the day of the Primary.
Show All Answers
Complete the N.C. State Voter Registration Form . New registrations and party change requests must be returned to the Elections Office no later than 25 days prior to Election Day to be applicable for the election. Note: The original form must be submitted in-person or by mail for new registrations. Same-day registration is available during One-Stop voting only after the deadline (where voters can register and vote the same day.)
A Voter Information Card will be mailed to you once your registration application has been processed. This card provides your proof of registration and also provides useful information like your precinct number and assigned polling location for Election Day. This card also displays what jurisdictions you vote in. Please retain this card as it may be used to change your address, name, or party affiliation within Carteret County. It can also be used to cancel your Carteret County registration should you move out of the county. This card is not required on election day in order to vote.
A citizen of the United States (if convicted of a felony, citizenship rights must be restored). A legal resident of Carteret County for 30 days by the date of the next election. A person 18 years of age, or a person 17 years of age can register and vote in the primary if they will be 18 by the date of the General Election.
The voter registration form (also used for changes) is available at the Board of Elections Office, and downloadable here.
You may also pick up a form at any Carteret County Driver's License Office, Public assistance agency, public high school, Armed Forces recruitment office, and most post offices.
There are two ways a voter can change their information. A voter can send us their voter card with the change (new information) marked on the back or the voter can complete a voter registration/change form annotating the new information. Either form MUST be signed with the voter's original signature. By law we cannot accept emails or phone calls requesting a change.
Yes. Voters who vote by mail must include a photocopy of an acceptable ID inside the "photo ID envelope" that comes with their ballot. Or they may complete an ID Exception Form with the absentee ballot return envelope.
Yes, voters will be required to show Photo ID to vote. On April 28, 2023, the North Carolina Supreme Court reversed an injunction against implementation of photo ID legislation. As a result, photo ID laws enacted in 2018 and 2019 will be implemented moving forward, starting with the municipal elections in November 2023.
Every voter will be assigned a voting place within the precinct where they live. Your precinct will be assigned by our office. You will receive a Voter's Information Card by mail indicating the name and location of your voting place when you register or change your address.
All voting places in Carteret County are open on Election Day from 6:30 am until 7:30 pm.
If you are unable to enter your voting place due to age or physical disability, you will be allowed to vote in your vehicle. Have someone enter the voting place and inform the election officials of your desire to vote a curbside ballot. The precinct officials will bring the ballot and voting forms to your vehicle or you can request absentee ballot.
Mail your request for an absentee ballot to: Carteret County Board of Elections, Attn: Absentee Ballots, 1702 Live Oak Street, Suite 200, Beaufort, NC 28516. Please make sure to sign your request.
To vote by mail, the voter will properly complete the Absentee Ballot Request form and submit it no later than the Tuesday prior to Election Day. Upon receipt of the request, the Board of Elections will mail the voter his/her ballot. The voter will properly complete his/her ballot and return envelope and mail it back to the Board of Elections by the deadline.
During One-Stop Early Voting, the voter appears in person to vote at any early voting site during the scheduled time for the election. This process is technically called "One-Stop No-Excuse Absentee Voting" as it is technically a form of in-person absentee voting prior to Election Day.
It is the responsibility of the voter to ensure that their information is correct on the records of the Board of Elections. If the voter shows up at a precinct on election day and the information in the voter records is incorrect or not there at all, the voter will be allowed to fill out a voter registration/change form and vote a ballot. This provisional ballot will be examined by the Board to determine if it can be counted. Under the provisions of the Voter Rights Act of 1993, failsafe voting, we will make every effort to count the provisional ballots. A voter who has moved to a different precinct more than 30 days prior to the election will be transferred to their new precinct where they will not have to vote a provisional ballot.
There are several ways to cancel your own Carteret County registration:
When you register to vote in a new county or state, you can complete the "Previous Voter Registration" section of the registration form. The county or state will notify Carteret County that you have moved, and we will cancel your Carteret County registration.
Complete the back of your voter card with the new address and county information and send the voter card to the Carteret County Board of Elections.
Click here to access a cancellation form to remove yourself from our voter registration records.
If mailed, the registration form must be postmarked at least 25 days prior to the election. If hand-delivered, the registration form must be received at the Board of Elections office no later than 5:00 pm on the 25th day prior to the election.
No. You must vote at the polling place for your precinct on Election Day. The precinct officials there will look for your name on a list of all of the voters in the precinct.
If you are not sure of the status of your voter registration, call the Board of Elections Office at 252-728-8460 and someone will verify your registration status. You may also search the website voter search utility to determine your registration status and voting location. The voter information there is updated daily.
Election administrators take many steps to ensure that voters only cast one ballot in an election. Voters have to be eligible to receive a ballot. Election officials keep detailed records of who has already voted, and who has already requested and received a ballot in the mail. These steps make it difficult for someone to cheat, so voting twice is both easy to catch and extremely rare. Additionally, most state laws make this type of illegal activity a felony that is punishable by time in jail, large fines, or both.
You have the right to:
Additionally, you may:
In accordance with G.S. 163-227.10, absentee ballots will be made available no later than 50 days before the primary and election.
To track your absentee ballot request through BallotTrax, click here.
Visually impaired voters can request and vote with an accessible ballot through the Absentee Ballot Portal.
No. Each voter receives an absentee ballot return envelope. That envelope is specific to each voter and should be returned only with that voter's completed ballot inside.
If you are a near relative or a verifiable legal guardian you may request a ballot by completing the required request form. Power of Attorney is not the same as legal guardian. Power of Attorney does not give an individual the right to sign for another for a request or the absentee ballot.
Any registered voter may vote an absentee ballot. No reason is required.
In order to receive an absentee ballot you must first complete a request form. This form is available here on our website or through the online submission portal. It must be completed and returned in person, through our online portal, or by mail. You will not be able to receive an absentee ballot unless this required form is properly completed and signed by the voter or requester. Click here for more information.
Please click on the following link for detailed, election security information.
210 Turner StreetBeaufort, NC 28516