Planning Commission

The Planning Department supports and facilitates the Carteret County Planning Commission. The Planning Commission meets on the second Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Commissioners' Boardroom at the Carteret Carteret County Administration Building in Beaufort, N.C. The Planning Commission reviews and makes recommendations on ordinance text amendments, traditional rezonings, conditional rezonings, planned unit developments, conditional planned unit development districts, and major special use permits. The Planning Commission makes final decisions on major subdivisions, mobile home parks, recreational vehicle parks, non-administrative approvals to communication towers, minor special use permits as well as hears variance requests from the County's Subdivision Ordinance and Down East Conservation Ordinance.

Statutory Authorization: Chapter 160D-301, Article 3 - Planning Boards
Member Specifications: 9 members
Term: 3 year
Compensation: None

Meeting Date: Second Monday of the Month
Meeting Time: 5:30 p.m.
Meeting Place: Carteret County Administration Building, Commissioners' Boardroom, 302 Courthouse Square, Beaufort, NC 28516
*Meeting dates & locations subject to change

Contact: Eugene Foxworth, Assistant County Manager/Planning Director at (252) 728-8545.

Member NameDesignationTerm Expiration
Dominick Spadaro
March 15, 2024
Norwood Jackson
February 20, 2026
Bruce Rogers, Jr.Vice-ChairJune 19, 2026
Dean GrahamChairSeptember 17, 2024
William Rogers
September 17, 2024
Edward Myers
January 24, 2025
Wallace "Drew" Kennedy
June 19. 2026
Michael Laws
August 16, 2024
John Rouse

February 20, 2026