Child Fatality Prevention Team

The Child Fatality Prevention Team reviews and records of all fatalities in Carteret County involved children. The Team meets on a case-by-case basis. All cases are reviewed to determine what, if any, improvements can be made within the community as a whole to provide services in Carteret County child population. A report is then submitted to the Board of Commissioners and to the State of North Carolina annually.

Statutory Authorization: NCGS 7B-1408.1.
Term: 3 years
Compensation: None

Meeting Date: Third Tuesday of the first month of each quarter
Meeting Time: 12:30 p.m.
Meeting Place: Carteret County Department of Social Services, 210 Craven Street, Beaufort, NC

Contact: Justina Grady-Coker, Social Worker, (252) 728-8550; ext. 5745

Member NameRepresentingTerm Expiration
*James MachipnessEmergency Medical ServicesJune 30, 2024
*Jason WankLaw Enforcement OfficerJune 30, 2023
*Heather BrowerParent of Child who died prior to 18th BirthdayJune 30, 2025
*Jodi LewisAt-LargeJune 30, 2022
*Christine MoodyAt-LargeJune 30, 2022
*Jacquelyn Page West BoudreauAt-LargeJune 30, 2024
*Claudia JohnsonAt-LargeJune 30, 2024
*Anna BucknerAt-LargeJune 30, 2025
VacantHuman Services DirectorN/A
Jessica AdamsDSS DirectorN/A
Nina OliverHealth DirectorN/A
Chuck Bryant, ChairDSS Staff MemberN/A
Kody KrebsDSS Staff MemberN/A
Irene FinneyAttorney from DA's OfficeN/A
VacantExecutive Dir. of Community Action Agency or DesigneeN/A
Kathy FosterDSS/CHS Board memberN/A
Karen ReavesMental Health Professional (appointed by Mental Health authority)N/A
Tracey BrennemanGAL Coordinator or DesigneeN/A
Andrea GillikinGAL DesigneeN/A
Justina Grady-CokerHealth Director or DesigneeN/A
Debra WashingtonHealth Director of DesigneeN/A
Dr. Jessica Harrell, MDHealth Care Provider (appointed by Board of Health)N/A
VacantDistrict Court Judge (appointed by Chief District Judge)N/A
VacantCounty Medical Examiner (appointed by Chief ME)N/A
Cynthia JacksonRepresentative of Local Day Care Facility of Head Start (appointed by DSS Director)N/A

*appointed by Board of Commissioners