Karen S. Hardesty
Carteret County Register of Deeds
302 Courthouse Square
Beaufort, NC 28516
(252)728-8474

Application for a Certified Copy of North Carolina Death Certificate

A Death Certificate is $10 each. For a mail-in request make your certified check or money order payable to Carteret
County Register of Deeds. Please do not send cash in the mail. Personal checks are not accepted. You will also need to
mail us a copy of your valid photo I.D. When requested by mail the death certificate is mailed out the same day we
receive the request. You may also come to the Register of Deeds Office in Beaufort, N.C. and request the copy. Please
bring a photo I.D. and $10 cash for each certified copy. If you have any questions, our phone number is (252)728-8474.
PLEASE PRINT

Full Name of Deceased

First Name Middle Name Last Name

Date of Death / / Place of Death

City County

Your Relationship to the Person Whose Certificate is Requested: (Check One) these are the only individuals
that may request a certified copy.

Spouse Grandparent

Brother/ Sister Authorized agent, attorney or legal
Representative of the person listed

Child (Proof Required)

Parent/Step Parent

| hereby certify that all the above information is true to the best of my knowledge. Note: It is a felony
violation of North Carolina Law (G.S. 130-26) to make false statement on this application or to unlawfully
obtain a certified copy of a death certificate.

Signature of Person Applying for Certificate Print Name of Person Applying for Certificate

Street City Zip Code Date (Area Code) Telephone No.



