Register of Deeds

Overview


The Register of Deeds office provides many services to the general public. We act as legal custodian of all land records and land transactions in the County. We are responsible for probating, recording, indexing and imaging them into permanent records for viewing and copying by the general public. The Register’s Office is governed by the General Statutes of North Carolina, the Legislature, N.C. Secretary of State and the Bureau of Vital Statistics for the accuracy and safekeeping of these records.

This office is also custodian for vital records such as birth, death, and marriages. You may obtain a certified copy of all vital records if it took place within the county. Not everyone can obtain a certified copy so you might want to check with the office for requirements. We can also issue certified copies of birth records for the State of North Carolina if the person was born 1971 or later.

In addition to these types of records we also file and record military discharges, notary public’s and any other document of a legal nature if properly acknowledged. Everything is public record except military discharges.

Our mission is to record and maintain these records, and our goal is to serve every citizen in a prompt and professional manner.

DISCLAIMER:
Book 301 thru Book 514 are on aperture cards. On the deed of trust if canceled it will be stamped on the card with the canceled information. If you need a copy of this information please call our office.


The Register of Deeds Staff


  • Karen Hardesty, Register of Deeds
  • Iona Whitehurst, Assistant
  • Deputies:
    • Barbara Cahoon
    • Mary Hayes
    • K. Travis Masters
    • Tina Lewis

Forms


Various Register of Deeds forms may be found here.

Fees: We accept cash, local check, certified check, law firm check, visa, debit or charge card.

Real Estate Records


  • For recording fees contact the Register of Deeds Office.
    • Document recording requirements are:
      • 8 ½ x 11 or 8 ½ x 14 Paper
      • Blank margin of three inches at the top of the first page and ½ inch on remaining sides
      • Be typed or printed black on white paper in no less than 10 point font.
      • Have text typed or printed on one side of page only.
      • State the type of instrument at the top of the first page.
    • If the instrument does not meet these requirements the register shall collect an additional $25.00 for nonstandard document (GS161-10(a) (19).
  • Certified copies of recorded documents are $5.00 for the first page and $2.00 each additional page.
  • We are not allowed to do title searches, it is considered practicing law and we are not attorneys, however, if you need help finding your deed we will be glad to assist you.

Military Discharges


  • You may bring your military discharge to the Register of Deeds to be filed for safe keeping. After it is filed we can issue certified copies. There is no charge for this service.
  • Copies or certified copies can only be issued to the veteran, agent/veteran authorizing in writing, veterans widow, court representing veteran, letter of testamentary, Veterans Affairs, or agent or representative of the NC State Archives.

Vital Records


Certified copies of birth, death, and marriage certificates may be obtained from the Vital Records Department located in the vault. You may also request certified copies by mail which requires a copy of your photo ID, along with a money order for the fee. For information on delayed birth certificates, legitimations, and amendments please contact the Vital Records at 252-728-8474.
  • Certified copies of Birth, Death, and Marriages
    • Must be accompanied by a driver’s license or state issued picture I.D.
    • Mail request requires copy of your photo ID along with a $10.00 money order for each certified copy.
    • Fee is $10.00 each (cash, or debit visa/charge card only)
    • Only persons closely related may obtain certified copies (mother, father, spouse, brother, sister, child or grandparents, legal guardians, and authorized agent)
  • State issued Birth Certificates
    • Must be accompanied by a driver’s license or state issued picture I.D.
    • Fee is $24.00 (cash, or debit visa / charge card only)
    • Applicant must have been born on or after 1971.
  • Marriage License:
    • View Updated Requirements here.
  • Order Online via VitalChek:
    • You may order a certified copy of a birth, death or marriage record online using your credit card through our only approved Internet ordering service, VitalChek Network Inc.
    • Carteret County Register of Deeds does not accept credit cards or online orders; however, for your convenience, you can process online requests through an independent company that we have partnered with to provide you this service; VitalChek Network Inc. VitalChek can be reached through its website www.vitalchek.com. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard®, or Visa®.
    • Other Internet vendors are not authorized by Carteret County Register of Deeds and may charge additional fees without providing state-approved services. Neither Carteret County Register of Deeds nor VitalChek have control over the services and fees other Internet vendors offer and charge, nor can we guarantee the confidentiality of any vital record data provided to vendors other than VitalChek.